DruQks
2006-08-07 09:23:08 UTC
#34187
Vesa
Asked a DM in game but they were unsure.When you dispel someone, what knowledge do you learn?
Do you know the spells?
Do you know aproximatley how many spell levels were dispelled(most of the PnP games I played went by this rule)
Do you know any spells were dispelled?
Do you know nothing?
You -do- receive a message IG saying "Dispelled: Invisibility, Mage Shield, etc. etc." So I would presume that your mage realised what spells he's dispelled.
If Crosswind's response has to do with DM policy then that's cool but according to the game engine, the dispelling mage "noticed" what he dispelled.
-YourFriendlyNeighbourhoodDruQks
Anthee
2006-08-08 09:53:58 UTC
#34342
The conclusion that DruQks omitted is that the mage can in any case plan his next course of action according to the information the game engine handily provided to him.
The answer to Vesa's question rarely has any significance for roleplaying, only for combat tactics, so in my humble opinion it would be a bit silly to have a DM policy on something relatively trivial that can be effortlessly 'metagamed' anyways (if the policy prohibits using that information, that is). There's no way to monitor something like this: I can't see anyone being accused of metagaming because they happened to choose a certain spell after casting Dispel Magic.
Vesa
2006-08-28 02:36:27 UTC
#37677
The real issue is someone may claim to not have magical wards, and you dispel them, seems clear though, you dont know.