Home > General Discussion

Dispel

Can anyone clarify for me the difference between lesser dispel, dispel, and greater dispel?

Apart from spell lvl, seems the description is the same for all of them.

Basically, they're more potent and powerful versions of the spell. Such as Summon Creature 1, 2, and so on.

Unless you meant mechanics-wise, in which case I think the DC and amount of spells you can disable are raised.

Lesser Dispel This spell attempts to strip all magical effects from a single target. It can also target a group of creatures, attempting to remove the most powerful spell effect from each creature. To remove an effect from a creature the caster makes a dispel check of 1d20, +1 per caster level (to a maximum of +5) against a DC of 11 + the spell effect's caster level.

Dispel Magic This spell attempts to strip all magical effects from a single target. It can also target a group of creatures, attempting to remove the most powerful spell effect from each creature. To remove an effect, the caster makes a dispel check of 1d20 +1 per caster level (to a maximum of +10) against a DC of 11 + the spell effect's caster level.

Greater Dispelling Greater dispelling attempts to strip all magical effects from a single target. It can also target a group of creatures, attempting to remove the most powerful spell effect from each creature. To remove an effect, the caster makes a dispel check of 1d20, +1 per caster level (to a maximum of +15) against a DC of 11 + the spell effect's caster level.

Really, they're just more powerful versions of the same spell, as the name implies!

Quotes from NWNWIKI, incidentally.

The difference lies in the max bonus you get to your dispel check. Lesser Dispel caps at 5, Dispel Magic caps at 10, and Greater Dispelling at 15. A caster with 5 caster levels will not benefit from using Dispel Magic instead of Lesser Dispel since the max bonus possible is 5 (equal to caster level), and Lesser Dispel's cap is 5. A caster with 7 caster level has a max possible bonus of 7, and thus suffers a penalty of 2 when using Lesser Dispel instead of Dispel Magic.

Note that with Spell Focus (Abjuration) and Greater Spell Focus (Abjuration), the cap is increased by one and two, respectively (so up to +7 for Lesser Dispel and +12 for Dispel Magic, etc.). This is custom for EfU.

Thanks folks!

Snoteye The difference lies in the max bonus you get to your dispel check. Lesser Dispel caps at 5, Dispel Magic caps at 10, and Greater Dispelling at 15. A caster with 5 caster levels will not benefit from using Dispel Magic instead of Lesser Dispel since the max bonus possible is 5 (equal to caster level), and Lesser Dispel's cap is 5. A caster with 7 caster level has a max possible bonus of 7, and thus suffers a penalty of 2 when using Lesser Dispel instead of Dispel Magic.

Note that with Spell Focus (Abjuration) and Greater Spell Focus (Abjuration), the cap is increased by one and two, respectively (so up to +7 for Lesser Dispel and +12 for Dispel Magic, etc.). This is custom for EfU.

In your example, LD is raised by two. I think you mean lesser dispel becomes +6 maximum. If whoever is reading this really wants to check on this, the Great FAQ has the answer. I'm just too lazy to do any more than make note of the mistake.

Also, be certain to note that in the case of counterspelling, Lesser dispel can only counter spells that are level 2 or lower. Dispel magic can counter level 3 spells and lower. So if someone is casting a fireball at you, and you only have lesser dispel memorized, better hope that you have a monk level and a good reflex save, because that's all that's standing between you and a fiery bath.

My 2 cents, Meow-Mix!

Garem In your example, LD is raised by two. I think you mean lesser dispel becomes +6 maximum. If whoever is reading this really wants to check on this, the Great FAQ has the answer. I'm just too lazy to do any more than make note of the mistake.
My example is correct, reread the last paragraph.

Snoteye
Garem In your example, LD is raised by two. I think you mean lesser dispel becomes +6 maximum. If whoever is reading this really wants to check on this, the Great FAQ has the answer. I'm just too lazy to do any more than make note of the mistake.
My example is correct, reread the last paragraph.

Ahh, the +1 is for the SF:Abj and the +2 is for the GSF. I read it as "have either feat and you get +1 for LDis and +2 for Dis". My mistake.