pioneerSeven
2007-11-14 11:04:02 UTC
#116510
How do they get there spells... through prayer?
Also... could someone explain to me (canonicaly is assume) why Lurue is not a valid spell giving deity?
I really wanted my Druid to have it's patron deity to be Lurue, so i'd appreciate to know why Lurue is not able to grant her followers spells.
Lurue
The Unicorn, the Unicorn Queen, the Queen of Talking Beasts
Symbol: Silver-horned unicorn head before a crescent moon
Home Plane: House of Nature
Alignment: Chaotic good
Portfolio: Talking beasts, intelligent nonhumanoid creatures
Worshipers: Druids, entertainers, outcasts, rangers, travelers, unicorn riders
Favored Weapon: A unicorn horn (shortspear)
Cleric Alignments: CG, CN, NG
NwN Domains: Animal, Chaos, Good, Healing
https://efupw.com/efu1-forum/topic/13/130/other-deities/index.html?amp;postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15
That's from the Faiths of Faerun forum. Druids are her PRIMARY worshippers....
Please help me out!
Thank you for all help friends :D
AScottBay
2007-11-14 13:53:21 UTC
#116540
https://efupw.com/efu1-forum/topic/28/280/druid/index.html#post-1282
pioneerSeven
2007-11-14 14:18:39 UTC
#116545
Hey.. thank you for your help on that... but i actually talked to Howland, and he said that Lurue isn't a valid deity.
I think it is though... and now that i rolled a char to test and checked the same thing, and it is as you say.
Anyway.. thank you!
9lives
2007-11-14 23:59:38 UTC
#116627
But you were just testing, right? Right?
Howland
2007-11-15 01:28:31 UTC
#116651
No, I am afraid I allowed my great and personal OOC dislike for the Lurue NPC/deity to overwhelm me!
djspectre
2007-11-15 01:43:47 UTC
#116653
Found this tidbit here:
http://nwn.wikia.com/wiki/Druid
"Druids are divine spellcasters who receive their spells from nature, not the gods."
Funny, why would you even need a diety to get spells from if they come from nature not the gods?
Ebok
2007-11-15 02:51:39 UTC
#116662
Relevant question!
Clerics have their alignments restricted by their deity. (it reads clerical alignments in the description)
Druids have their alignment restricted by their class.
Do Druids also have their alignments restricted by deity?
If I've lost you,
ex. Can a N Druid of Malar cast spells?
AScottBay
2007-11-15 03:15:53 UTC
#116664
NWN Wiki parrots what BioWare put in their crappy manuals and/or "help" screens; which means its stat/class/alignment explanations are even more unreliable than the mechanical notes.
The Realms work differently than the D&D standard campaign setting in 3rd/3.5E (Greyhawk).
TheManicMan
2007-11-15 03:29:10 UTC
#116665
Could it be that your doing the blasphemous act of wearing Metal armor as a druid of Lurue? If I remember reading right you can only wear metal if your a druid of Mielikki, all others have to wear only leather or cloth.
Ebok
2007-11-15 03:33:25 UTC
#116667
I dont think he had created yet. I think he was talking to howland on IRC, got a incorrect answer, and brought it up here. Then it was checked- and he made and was all good. >_>
Meanwhile, I'd love a response to my question. <_<
Fatal-Shift
2007-11-16 05:17:42 UTC
#116839
You sure? For some reason I thought a druid that was true neutral could take any of the druid deities and cast spells. Well, learn something new everyday.
Anthee
2007-11-16 11:11:12 UTC
#116894
The same restrictions apply to druid alignments as to cleric alignments, IE they follow the one-step rule, in addition to which a druid must be neutral. Malar is CE, from which CN and NE are one step away, so CN and NE are the allowed druid alignments (CE not being neutral).
True Neutral is an exception in that a cleric or a druid may be TN only if their deity is also TN. I'm fairly sure this applies to druids too.
Marfdasko
2007-11-16 12:03:47 UTC
#116897
TheManicMan
Could it be that your doing the blasphemous act of wearing Metal armor as a druid of Lurue? If I remember reading right you can only wear metal if your a druid of Mielikki, all others have to wear only leather or cloth.
Or ironwood. But that's not available in the Underdark.
Anthee
2007-11-16 18:03:50 UTC
#116935
We do have druid armors fashioned from the carapaces of some tough Underdark creatures, though, which don't really count as "leather". So, druids can wear medium or heavy armor too, as long as it's "natural" enough. (Don't ask me where the line goes, though!)
But eh, going off topic now, seems the original concern was long since answered.
Ebok
2007-11-16 19:38:28 UTC
#116960
The lines are draw at -metal-. No metal armor of any type. No studded Leather.