As far as I know, in D&D, you don't summon familiars and unsummon them all the time. You summon them once and then they stick around. Maybe you can put them into your backpack, but they're still around.
So why does every PC tell me to "unsummon" my eyeball/mini-dragon/pet lemure? What's the DM ruling on this?
Is it acceptable to RP the "unsummon" command as it should be in P&P, namely as simply putting the familiar on your shoulder/into a bag/whatever? I'd be rather fond of NOT putting, say, a rat away but instead having it on the PC's shoulder at all times, like you'd expect it with a real familiar in P&P.
Is that acceptable?